News Release

John Ramil to be honored with University of South Florida President’s Fellow Medallion

TAMPA, August 5, 2014

John Ramil, president and chief executive officer of TECO Energy, on Saturday will be awarded the University of South Florida President’s Fellow Medallion by President Judy Genshaft at the USF commencement ceremony at 9 a.m.

Established in 1988, the President’s Fellow Medallion is awarded at the president’s discretion to highly distinguished meritorious individuals.

“John Ramil is a great advocate for the University of South Florida,” Genshaft said. “We have been truly honored to have such a highly regarded professional, distinguished community leader and USF graduate be part of our Board of Trustees during a time of tremendous growth and success. It’s a privilege to recognize him with this award.”

Ramil holds Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Engineering from USF. In 1999, he was named USF’s Distinguished Alumnus. In 2001, then-Gov. Jeb Bush appointed him to the inaugural board of trustees, and he is the longest-serving trustee. He served two terms as chairman, until earlier this year.

Ramil also serves on the board of directors of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida. Previously, he has served on the boards of the Florida Chamber of Commerce, the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce, the American Heart Association-Tampa Bay Heart Walk, InRoads Tampa Bay, the Southeastern Electric Exchange and the Florida Electric Power Coordinating Group.

TECO Energy Inc. (NYSE: TE) is an energy-related holding company. Its principal subsidiary, Tampa Electric Co., is a regulated utility in Florida with both electric and gas divisions ( Tampa Electric and Peoples Gas System ). Tampa Electric serves more than 700,000 customers in West Central Florida, and Peoples Gas serves more than 350,000 customers in most of Florida’s major metropolitan areas and beyond. Another TECO Energy subsidiary, TECO Coal, owns and operates coal-production facilities in Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia.